Twilightpeaks.net

RoE General => The Sage (Questions & Answers) => : X-Mhoried/Droene Kavarra (Iasonas) March 21, 2009, 11:17:51 PM

: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-Mhoried/Droene Kavarra (Iasonas) March 21, 2009, 11:17:51 PM
Could one specify that he wishes to ready an action within a realm action?
For example:

Regent X wishes to rule guild holdings in 3 provinces (realm action). However there is only 1 vacant guild slot in province C, and he does not want to waste resources, if that slot is filled by other regents.

So his action is described as:
Rule guild to level 2 in province A.
Rule guild to level 3 in province B.
Ready Rule guild to level 2 in province C.

Is it a valid Realm action? Ideally he would rule the guilds in A and B, and if the guild slot is not filled, he will rule guild in province C. O/w he simply does not rule in province C, saving his precious RP and GB ;)
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-Elinie/RiD (Niels) March 21, 2009, 11:25:14 PM
I don't know, but would like to know.

In addition, this question; Can I use a Realm action, to Rule a holding of the same type, in ths same province, more than once?

Such as, from 1 to 2, and then from 2 to 3, so one would be the regent action, the other a court action to support the realm action.
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-Haelyn's Aegis/RK (Andy) March 22, 2009, 12:05:22 AM
If than else statements are banned I think.  Probably for the best.

One I've tried:

So.
action 1.  I try to hire an adviser
action 2.  I assign the adviser - if action 1 succeeds.

Action 2 is 'readied' - if I fail to hire the adviser then #2 just doesn't happen...
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-Points East March 22, 2009, 12:08:25 AM

Can I use a Realm action, to Rule a holding of the same type, in ths same province, more than once?

OoC:  No.

: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-Elinie/RiD (Niels) March 22, 2009, 12:16:00 AM
If than else statements are banned I think.  Probably for the best.

One I've tried:

So.
action 1.  I try to hire an adviser
action 2.  I assign the adviser - if action 1 succeeds.

Action 2 is 'readied' - if I fail to hire the adviser then #2 just doesn't happen...

Uh, ah, you can do some nasty gambits if you start stacking actions... If fx you can do something nasty with a Take 10, or even have a chance to do it at, say 14+ on the dice, then you script doing it, to the same guy 4-5 times, and your last shot is where you place your Influence.

Then you basically force him to defend vs. the 4 first shots with Influence, but it cost you only 1 GB to initiate, netting you advantage, then on the last run, you hope to have tapped the resisting party for Influence enough to slide right in.

I've decided not to do something like that, as its very clearly not in the "spirit" of the mechanics, I mean, why would you semi-try something several times. The "fair" way to do it would be a Take-20 Regent action.
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-Endier & KoH/GdN (Joe) March 22, 2009, 01:13:59 AM
LOL, I write code all the time that way

If Alamie.Status="Allied" Then
Call Action Maesford.Rule.Holding.Manor
Elseif Alamie.Status="Enemy" Then
Call Action KoH.DeclareWar(Alamie)
Call Action KoH.CreateFieldArmy
End If
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: DM B March 22, 2009, 07:28:08 AM
You cannot ready PART of an action; you ready an action specifying a trigger, and if said trigger is triggered  ;) THEN the (whole) action fires.

But yes, you could ready a realm action.
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-Ilien & PCE/GeM (Linde) March 22, 2009, 08:30:42 PM
I have a few quick questions: ^_^

----------------------------------------------------
1) Is this series of readied actions allowed:

Regent action: Rule law in province x from 3 to 4
Regent action: if law in province x is 3 then: rule law from 3 to 4
Regent action: if law in province x is 4 then: rule law from 4 to 5

----------------------------------------------------
2)Is this series of readied actions allowed:

Regent action: Rule law in province x from 3 to 4
Regent action: if law in province x is 4 then: rule law from 4 to 5
Regent action: if law in province x is 5 then: rule law from 5 to 6


----------------------------------------------------
3) Does court actions used in conjunction with a realm action count as the same action as the realm action for the purpose of readying actions?

-------------------------------------------------------
4) Does free actions taken in conjunction with a regent diplomacy action where you visit the court of another regent count as the same action as the regent action for the purpose of readying actions?


Regards
Linde
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-LPA/Gaerred Khaiarén (Gray) March 23, 2009, 12:57:27 AM
LOL, I write code all the time that way

If Alamie.Status="Allied" Then
Call Action Maesford.Rule.Holding.Manor
Elseif Alamie.Status="Enemy" Then
Call Action KoH.DeclareWar(Alamie)
Call Action KoH.CreateFieldArmy
End If

This looks oddly like VBA or C++.
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-Endier & KoH/GdN (Joe) March 23, 2009, 01:46:20 PM
I mostly write in a bastardized VB called LotusScript, for Lotus Domino servers.

And tbh, I'm normally too lazy to write functions, I just use one long strip of code...
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: DM B March 23, 2009, 04:51:57 PM
I have a few quick questions: ^_^

----------------------------------------------------
1) Is this series of readied actions allowed:

Regent action: Rule law in province x from 3 to 4
Regent action: if law in province x is 3 then: rule law from 3 to 4
Regent action: if law in province x is 4 then: rule law from 4 to 5

----------------------------------------------------
2)Is this series of readied actions allowed:

Regent action: Rule law in province x from 3 to 4
Regent action: if law in province x is 4 then: rule law from 4 to 5
Regent action: if law in province x is 5 then: rule law from 5 to 6


----------------------------------------------------
3) Does court actions used in conjunction with a realm action count as the same action as the realm action for the purpose of readying actions?

-------------------------------------------------------
4) Does free actions taken in conjunction with a regent diplomacy action where you visit the court of another regent count as the same action as the regent action for the purpose of readying actions?


Regards
Linde

1. No

2. Inst this the same as 1?

3. Not sure what you're asking

4. Not sure what you're asking
: Re: Ready action within Realm actions.
: X-Ilien & PCE/GeM (Linde) March 24, 2009, 03:47:19 PM

1. No

2. Inst this the same as 1?

3. Not sure what you're asking

4. Not sure what you're asking
1) ok
2) no it is not the same. in 1) I use two attempts on ruling a holding from 3 to 4 in 2)  I continually rule 3 times. But if 1) is No a then 2) must be a No too
3&4) I had misunderstood something so those questions are nonsense.