Author Topic: ABLE ASSISTANCE  (Read 2494 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline X-Points East

  • Grand-Maester of the P&H
  • Saint
  • Regent
  • *
  • Posts: 626
  • Regency: 15
ABLE ASSISTANCE
« on: October 06, 2014, 11:43:41 PM »
ABLE ASSISTANCE

Offline X-Points East

  • Grand-Maester of the P&H
  • Saint
  • Regent
  • *
  • Posts: 626
  • Regency: 15
ABLE ASSISTANCE — Hirelings & Henchmen
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2014, 08:48:43 AM »
Part the First:  Hirelings & Henchmen

There are two types of able assistants:—hirelings and henchmen.

Hirelings

An hireling works for a domain.  The maximum number of hirelings, which a domain might have, is determined by dividing its court expenditure by 2 and rounding down any remainder.  Should the number of hirelings ever exceed this maximum due to a drop in expenditure, an appropriate number of the hirelings leaves, the departing individual(s) being determined by the DM.  Hirelings are recruited using the engagement action and may be of any level.

Although a domain’s court expenditure covers the pay of minor hirelings, veteran and more experienced hirelings demand additional pay in GB each season, as per the following table, HIRELINGS & HENCHMEN I.  For powerful spellcasters, the additional pay is generally higher than that listed in the table (by at least 1 GB).

HIRELINGS & HENCHMEN I
Additional Pay for Hirelings

Common

Adept

Expert

Heroic
Raw {0}
0
0
0
0
Green {1}
0
0
0
0
Able {2}
0
0
0
0
Veteran {3}
.5
.75
1
1.25
Crack {4}
1
1.5
2
2.5
Epic {5}
1.5
2.25
3
3.75
Legendary {6}
2
3
4
5
Fabulous {7}
3
4.5
6
7.5
Mythical {8}
4
6
8
10
Paramount {9}
5
7.5
10
12.5

Henchmen

An henchman serves a regent, usually quite loyally.  The maximum number of henchmen, which might attend a given regent, is determined by dividing his EXP by 2 and rounding up any remainder.  Generally, one henchman’s character level may be as high as the regent’s, whilst his other henchmen must be of lower level, although slight variations from this norm are conceivable, especially when based on in-character relationships.  Vacant henchman slots are not filled over time without domain action.

A lieutenant is an henchman, although he need not necessarily have been an henchman before becoming a lieutenant.

Offline X-Points East

  • Grand-Maester of the P&H
  • Saint
  • Regent
  • *
  • Posts: 626
  • Regency: 15
ABLE ASSISTANCE — Assistant Actions
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2014, 08:55:07 AM »
Part the Second:  Assistant Actions

Standardly, each able assistant is limited to providing, at maximum, one character action on behalf of a domain per turn.  Designated positions,—including lieutenant, which is designated, not via grant (title), but via lieutenant,—can relax this limitation.  The following table, ASSISTANT ACTIONS I, lists various designated positions and the actions, which they allow an able assistant to provide on behalf of a domain, potentially beyond the standard limitation of one character action per turn.  However, regardless of his designated positions, an able assistant may never take more than three actions total in a given turn.

ASSISTANT ACTIONS I
Positions & Actions

Action
Lieutenant
Bonus Lieutenant Action
Minister
Adventure (Civil Service {Administration})
Aide
Adventure (Civil Service {Administration})
General/Admiral
Adventure (Martial Service)
Commander/Commodore
Adventure (Martial Service)

Administration can only be conducted under a designated minister or a domain’s regent, who must be employing adventure (civil service {administration}).  There are five ministerial positions,—castellan, chancellor, purser, quartermaster, and seneschal,—and five corresponding aide positions.  The various aide positions are inferior posts:—an aide’s adventure (civil service {administration}) action can only be conducted in concert with a superior minister’s or a regent’s adventure (civil service {administration}) action, although the aide’s modifier stacks with the minister’s or the regent’s, according to the normal rules for stacking modifiers.

Able assistants, who have not been granted a martial title, may not adventure (martial service).  The same character can not be, both, a general and a commander or, both, an admiral and a commodore for the same domain:—commander and commodore are inferior posts and superceded by general and admiral, respectively.

Bonus Lieutenant Actions

Only lieutenants may provide bonus lieutenant actions on behalf of a domain; and only one such action may be conducted per turn in a given domain, no matter its number of lieutenants.  Normally, bonus lieutenant actions may not be realm actions; however, should a lieutenant have access to a bonus class action, the standard version of which is a realm action, then he may employ it via bonus lieutenant action, but only in conjunction with a single court action.  The base cost of a bonus lieutenant action is reduced by 1 GB, when it is a bonus class action for the lieutenant, who is conducting it.