RoE Development > RoE PbeM Whiteboard

Follow up on ROE Online - The Programming Effort

(1/4) > >>

Davout:
Greetings everyone,

First let me introduce myself. My internet name is Louis Davout and I live in Indiana USA. I've played RPGs and wargames on and off (mostly off lately) since 1980 and 1977 respectfully. Birthright has always fascinated me, having purchased it when it first came out. I have had a recent desire to start a new campaign. Unfortunately, running such a campaign is very time consuming. Software to manage much of it would be a most wondrous thing. So my first step was to search to see if anyone else has started anything. I am aware of BirMail but won't my needs. Now I have come across the http://twilightpeaks.net/forum/index.php?topic=998.msg11203#msg11203 which as definitely piqued my interest.

My name is Louis the Shrubber the software developer. I arrange, design, and sell applications.

I am a professional software developer. Currently I work with:

Object Oriented Programming
PHP 5
Mysql 5
Zend Framework
Doctrine ORM
PHPUnit

My particular skills focus on the Model and Controller end of the MVC - in other words the behind the scenes stuff. You don't want me designing interface.

So I ask has anything been done since the post I mentioned was posted?

In either case I would like to provide my assistance.

Please let me know.

Thanks

Louis.

X-Elinie/RiD (Niels):
Hello and welcome!

Well, beyond the initial thoughts and the general brainstorming, the project has been sitting for awhile.

We have an excel sheet which we call "Provinces and Holdings" which is a database that gives an instant overview of regency and tax income, as well as holding spread and ownership.

When we plan a new turn, we do so in a second excel document called a "Domain Order", where the players, for a single specific document, enter the actions they are performing that turn.